Tuesday, May 5, 2009

And the Winners Are..................................

Congratulations to well deserving teachers and principals selected for 2010 Teacher of the Year and 2010 Principal of the Year. There are no losers, all of our hardworking teachers and principals are all winners! Thank you for helping us to help our children aspire to the top of their potential. Vivian. Nashville, Tenn. (May 4, 2009) - Monday, May 4, aboard the General Jackson, MNPS announced its 2010 Teachers of the Year and 2010 Principals of the Year. This annual program seeks to recognize outstanding educators and administrators. The 2010 Teachers of the Year will go on to represent the district in the state competition for their division. 2010 Teacher of the Year The annual Teacher of the Year program seeks to recognize teachers from each school who have been selected by their peers as among the best. A panel of judges reviewed materials submitted by each school-level teacher of the year and narrowed the field to nine finalists-three each representing elementary, middle, and high schools. John M. Shuler, reading specialist at Jones Elementary Paideia Magnet School, was awarded Elementary School Teacher of the Year. For the past 15 years, Shuler has worked with students grades K-4, helping them hone their reading skills. Nancy Stewart, third grade teacher at Hattie Cotton Elementary, and Sara-Ann Bryant, Pre-K teacher at Tusculum Elementary, were finalists in the elementary school division. Renita J. Cobb, language arts and reading teacher at West End Middle, was named this year's Middle School Teacher of the Year. Cobb teaches 7th grade and has served the district for 36 years. Other finalists in this division were Angela Deel, language arts and reading teacher at DuPont Hadley Middle, and Gary Hughes, MIP Conduct instructor at Two Rivers Middle. Stacey Hinchman, AP English literature and composition teacher at McGavock High, was awarded High School Teacher of the Year. Hinchman has been teaching at McGavock for 17 years. Lt. Col Barry Sprouse, Army JROTC instructor at Hunters Lane High, and Kathryn Lee, science teacher at Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet High, were the other finalists in the high school division. Also recognized at the ceremony was each individual school's teacher of the year. A complete list can be found at http://www.mnps.org/ <http://www.mnps.org/> . Principal of the Year Each year, MNPS also recognizes a Principal of the Year from each tier - elementary, middle and high. Principals are nominated and voted on by the other principals in their tier. This year, the Elementary School Principal of the Year is Brenda Steele of Alex Greene Elementary; the Middle School Principal of the Year is Bill Moody of Two Rivers Middle; and the High School Principal of the Year is Fran Stewart of East Literature Magnet High School. "These teachers and administrators are the district's front line," said Dr. Jesse Register, Director of Schools. "They work one-on-one with our students and their families every day; they deserve to be recognized for their excellence and dedication to our students and community." The ceremony was held on board the General Jackson Showboat. Guests enjoyed dinner and live entertainment provided by The Howard Fine Band. Special guest Vicki Yates, News Channel 5 Anchor, was on hand to help present the awards. Metro Nashville Public Schools provide a range of educational opportunities to more than 75,000 students in Nashville and Davidson County. The governing body for MNPS is the Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County Board of Public Education, a nine-member group elected by residents of Metropolitan Nashville. For more information, please visit http://www.mnps.org/.

No comments: